My twitter Updates

Liverpool to defend crown!

Saturday, June 11, 2005

Good news for Liverpool fans! Looks like the Reds will be allowed to defend their Champions League trophy next season and the rules have been changed to ensure the holders will always qualify for the following season's competition, UEFA.

That would mean that England will have five representatives in the competition -- champions Chelsea, runners-up Arsenal, Manchester United, Everton and Liverpool. It is the first time any country has had more than four representatives and, according to UEFA, will be the last.

Therefore, from next season, a club winning the Champions League but finishing outside their country's allocation will qualify automatically at the expense of the lowest of the clubs above them.

However, Liverpool will have to play six qualifying matches just to reach the qualifying stage of the Champions League. Thus, to retain the Champions League title, Liverpool would have to play 19 matches (!).
posted by Ivan, 12:50 am


commented by Anonymous Anonymous, 6/11/2005 10:17:00 pm


Add a comment